Prof Kay Marshall proudly showing our Silver Athena SWAN award for SHS.

Who are we?

We are a group of enthusiastic people who are passionate about gender equality. We consist of four Working Groups (Gold, Action Plan, Survey, and Outreach Activities) that oversee development and implementation of our Silver Action Plan, develop new initiatives to support gender equality in SHS and in a wider community.

In October 2018 we were awarded Silver Interim Athena SWAN award. The award is valid until April 2022. Here is a copy of our SHS Athena Silver Award application and Silver Award Athena SWAN logo.

Contact us:

SHS Athena SWAN core team:
Academic Chair: Karolina Kluk
PS Chair: Sharon Grant
Contract Researchers Chair: Elizabeth Camacho
Director of Social Responsibility: Sally Freeman

Athena SWAN Divisional Leads:

Karolina Kluk (
Lamiece Hassan (
Carol Mackintosh-Franklin (
Sudeh Cheraghi-Sohi ( 
Katie Finegan From June 2019 to cover for Sudeh’s maternity leave
Jonathan Hammond (
Patricia A. Gooding (

Administrative support provided by  Katherine Wright