About CaFI talking therapy

CaFI therapy is a hybrid model consisting of behavioural family therapy and cognitive behavioural therapy.

It is delivered by two therapists: one who is a lead therapist and another who will assist them, known as the co-therapist.

All family units randomised to receive CaFI therapy will receive 10 one-hour sessions. Below is a breakdown of what is generally covered in the sessions.

Component 1:
Engagement and Assessment (Sessions 1 and 2)

  • Understanding the family dynamics and different roles.
  • Tailoring CaFI to meet individual needs.
  • Building positive relationships.

Component 2:
Shared Learning (Sessions 3 and 4)

  • Navigating mental services.
  • Addressing power dynamics in the family and health care services.
  • Challenging stigma.
  • Improving knowledge about schizophrenia and related psychoses.

Component 3:
Communication (Sessions 5 and 6)

  • Building on existing communication skills within the family.
  • Empowering participants to express their needs.
  • Engaging with mental health services.
  • Supporting carers and family members in representing the view and needs of service user and themselves.

Component 4:
Stress Management and problem solving (Sessions 7 and 8)

  • Identifying stressful situations.
  • Creating goal-based coping strategies.
  • Promoting positive cycles around thoughts, feelings, and behaviours.

Component 5:
Staying Well and Maintaining gains (Sessions 9 and 10)

  • Recovery-focused approach.
  • Developing long-term plans for maintaining wellbeing.
  • Spotting early warning signs.