People


Academic and research staff

Katharine Smith
Group Lead and Senior Lecturer in Aerospace Engineering
George Begg Building – C36
0161 306 3731
kate.smith@manchester.ac.uk

Nicholas Crisp
Research associate (DISCOVERER project)
Pariser Building – E21
0161 306 8285
nicholas.crisp@manchester.ac.uk

Peter Hollingsworth
Lecturer in Aerospace
George Begg Building – C30
0161 306 3741
peter.hollingsworth@manchester.ac.uk

Alejandro Macario Rojas
Research Associate in Space Robotics
Pariser Building – H16
alejandro.macariorojas@manchester.ac.uk

Vitor Oiko
Research associate (DISCOVERER project)
Pariser Building – E21
vitor.oiko@manchester.ac.uk

Peter Roberts
Senior Lecturer in Spacecraft Engineering
George Begg Building – C8
0161 306 4636
peter.c.e.roberts@manchester.ac.uk

Ali Turan
Chair in Thermodynamics of Power Generation
George Begg Building – C44
0161 306 3712
ali.turan@manchester.ac.uk

Sergey Utyuzhnikov
Reader in Computational Mathematics
George Begg Building – C35
0161 306 3707
s.utyuzhnikov@manchester.ac.uk


PhD researchers

Tom Fisher
Development of advanced techniques for aerodynamic assessment of blunt bodies in hypersonic flows thomas.fisher@manchester.ac.uk

Gunter Just
Lunar in-situ resource utilisation
gunter.just@manchester.ac.uk

Sabrina Livadiotti
Application of orbital aerodynamics to satellite attitude and orbit control
sabrina.livadiotti@manchester.ac.uk

Stephen Longhurst
A methodology for the deployment of small spacecraft beyond Earth low orbit
stephen.longhurst@manchester.ac.uk

Mobin Malik
Electrospray propulsion for nanosatellite systems
mobin.malik@manchester.ac.uk

Sahil Marahaj
Propulsion technologies for nanosatellite systems
sahil.marahaj@manchester.ac.uk

Luciana Sinpetru
Optimising satellite geometries to minimise drag in very low earth orbits
luciana.sinpetru@manchester.ac.uk

Lavanan Vengadasalam
Utility-centric design method for space mission architecture
lavanan.vengadasalam@manchester.ac.uk

Opportunities

Find out about research opportunities in Space Systems Engineering and how to apply.

Our research

Discover the range of our research topics in Space Systems Engineering.