People


Academic and research staff

Yong Wang – Group lead and Professor of Structural Engineering

Lee Cunningham – Senior Lecturer in Civil and Structural Engineering

Andrew Foster – Lecturer in Structural Engineering

Gregory Lane-Serff – Senior Lecturer in Fluid Dynamics

Qingming Li – Professor of Applied Mechanics

Razvan Sencu – Research associate

Meini Su – Lecturer in Structural Engineering

Jiaming Wang – Research associate (part-time)

Jack Wu – Lecturer in Structural Engineering

Qiangjun Zhang – Research associate


PhD researchers

Kurdo Abdulla
Innovative strengthening techniques for unfired clay masonry structures
kurdo.abdulla@manchester.ac.uk

Eda Arikan
Behaviour of masonry arch bridges subject to flood flow and debris impact
eda.arikan@manchester.ac.uk

Mutiu Alabi-Bello
Fire resistance design of thin-walled steel beams using direct strength method
mutiu.alabi-bello@manchester.ac.uk

Robert Ataria
Impact resistance of structures under falling loads
robert.ataria@manchester.ac.uk

Annelie Baines
Resilience of shore-based, coastal structures in the UK
annelie.baines@manchester.ac.uk

Andrea Codolini
Engineering constitutive and failure model of plastics and fibre-reinforced plastics
andrea.codolini@manchester.ac.uk

Charlie Hopkin (part-time)
Risk informed optimum investments in fire safety systems for high-rise residential buildings
charlie.hopkin@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk

Iziengbe Inerhunwa
Safety and reliability of structures exposed to fire
iziengbe.inerhunwa@manchester.ac.uk

Cong Cong Li
Numerical simulation and experimental investigation on the vertical fire spread of exterior wall claddings in high-rise buildings
congcong.li-2@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk

Shunfeng Li
Dynamic behaviour of composite materials and structural elements
shunfeng.li@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk

Kangpei Meng
Homogenization of the dynamical behavior of heterogeneous materials
kangpei.meng@manchester.ac.uk

Omar Nakassa
Investigation on the behaviour of low wave tsunamis on post emergency shelters
omar.nakassa@manchester.ac.uk

Janwar Nurdin
Resilience of coastal structures to fluid-debris loading in tsunamis
jnurdin@manchester.ac.uk

Nicholas Omoding
Mechanical degradation of concrete elements under sediment-laden hydrodynamic flows
nicholas.omoding@manchester.ac.uk

Ernest Oshogbunu Onoriode
Optimization of support structures for offshore renewable energy farms
ernest.oshogbunu@manchester.ac.uk

Michael Roberts (part-time)
Numerical models for structure cladding interaction
michael.roberts-7@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk

Mohamed Shaheen
Behaviour of stainless steel connections in fire
mohamed.shaheen-2@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk

Nikola Stoyanov
Fire resistance of steel structures after LNG exposure
nikola.stoyanov@manchester.ac.uk

Riza Suwondo
Fire in building structures
riza.hakim@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk

Mike Walsh 
Predictive response tool for crash-test dummies
mike.walsh-3@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk

Yu Wang
Li-ion batteries under impact and shock environment
yu.wang-2@manchester.ac.uk

Yinzhong Yan
Structural failure assessment under severe shock conditions
yinzhong.yan@manchester.ac.uk

Chengxing Yang
Management of impact energy and shock in rail crashes
chengxing.yang@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk

Opportunities

Find out about research opportunities in Structural Resilience and how to apply.

Our research

Discover the range of our research topics in resilience of the built environment.