Doubleday/Manchester Award and Lecture

The Doubleday/Manchester Award aims to promote the importance of breadth in medical training.

The award is granted to an individual of standing who has made a significant contribution to patient care and who, in turn, delivers a lecture at The University of Manchester.

Rabbi Julia Neuberger was the first recipient of the Doubleday/Manchester in January 2002. She delivered a lively and thought provoking public lecture on ‘Doctors, patients, consent and understanding – is there a new compact out there?’. Her contribution has set the pattern for subsequent recipients.

The Award ceremony is normally held in October each year. You can see updates on each year’s Award and Lecture on the Faculty of Biology, Medicine and Health News blog.

Award winners

2022: Professor Nigel Osborne

Awarded in recognition of his ground-breaking work in music therapy. Find out more by listening to the Outlook radio programme (BBC). 

2021: Dr Bola Owolabi

Awarded for excellence in leading national and international change to improve population health and equity in access, experience and outcomes of health and care services for patients, carers and people from socially and materially deprived backgrounds.

2020: Cherylee Houston

In recognition of her work in raising awareness of disability rights issues. Watch Cherylee’s lecture on YouTube.

2019: Dr Mark Porter

For his dedication to medical journalism, evidence based practice and medical ethics.

2018: Professor Clare Gerada

For her substantive dedication to family medicine, general practice and supporting doctors through crisis.

2017: Andy Burnham

In recognition of his leadership following the Manchester Arena bombing as Mayor of Greater Manchester.

2016: Lemn Sissay MBE

In recognition of his contribution to equality and diversity.

2015: Sir Bruce Keogh

For his medical leadership of NHS England and his work on professionalism and patient quality.

2014: Sir Robert Francis

For his NHS Mid-Staffs Report and his work to promote candour and professionalism in healthcare.

2013: Sunetra Gupta

For her mathematical modelling of epidemics.

2012: Rony Brauman

For his role in the founding of Médecins sans Frontières, his long-term commitment to provide healthcare where there is none and his role in training staff for this work.

2011: Lord Owen

For bringing a medical perspective to public service, particularly during his time as Minister of Health.

2010: Sir Michael Marmot

For his work in promoting equality in healthcare provision.

2009: Melba Wilson

For her work in creating equality of access to mental healthcare provision.

2008: Abu Baker Suleiman

For his work on providing access to medical facilities to those who live in remote communities.

2007: Professor Alan Emery

For his support of Duchenne muscular dystrophy patients and their families.

2006: Professor Nick White

For his long-term interest in epidemic infections.

2005: Professor Roger Short

For his work in reproductive medicine and his particular interest in arresting the spread of AIDS.

2004: Professor Arthur Kleinman

For his work in social medicine at Harvard.

2003: Sir Kenneth Calman

Former Chief Medical Officer.

2002: Rabbi Julia Neuberger

Former director of the King’s Fund.

Student Award winners

2020: Dr Calisha Allen

In recognition of her exceptional contribution to The Doubleday Centre for Patient Experience. Read more on the FBMH News blog.