Brave New World 2024

Brave New World 2024: Call for Abstracts


This year’s Brave New World is the 28th annual postgraduate conference organised by the Manchester Centre for Political Theory (MANCEPT). The conference will take place on Wednesday 10th and Thursday 11th of July 2024 at the University of Manchester.


We are pleased to announce as our keynote speakers:

  • Katherine Jenkins (University of Glasgow), whose research into social philosophy has highlighted the importance of ontological categories in shaping systems of oppression along lines such as race, gender and disability. Dr. Jenkins has also been active in public facing work, consulting with external organisations on issues such as sexual violence prevention, gender equality and inclusion, and trans rights.
  • Martin O’Neill (University of York), who has written extensively on varied topics of political philosophy from freedom, autonomy and responsibility, social justice, to equality. Prof. O’Niell’s work often examines the fascinating interactions between Philosophy, Political Economy and Public Policy. Particularly around issues such as finance, monetary policy, work, and economic governance.


The Brave New World conference series is a leading international forum dedicated to the discussion of postgraduate research in political theory. Participants will have the chance to meet and talk about their work with eminent academics, including members of the faculty from the University of Manchester, as well as the guest speakers.

Guest speakers in previous years have included:
David Archard, Richard Arneson, Alice Baderin, Carla Bagnoli, Brian Barry, Simon Caney, G.A. Cohen, Roger Crisp, Cecile Fabre, Jerry Gaus, Bob Goodin, Peter Jones, Chandran Kukathas, Cécile Laborde, Annabelle Lever, Kasper Lippert-Rasmussen, Jeff McMahan, Matt Matravers, Emily McTernan, Susan Mendus, David Miller, Onora O’Neill, Serena Olsaretti, Michael Otsuka, Bhikhu Parekh, Carole Pateman, Carmen Pavel, Anne Phillips, Joseph Raz, Andrea Sangiovanni, Samuel Scheffler, David Schmidtz, Quentin Skinner, Hillel Steiner, Adam Swift, Philippe Van Parijs, Leif Wenar, Andrew Williams, Stuart White, and Jonathan Wolff.


Submission guidelines

If you would like to present a paper, please send an abstract of approximately 300 words in PDF format to no later than 10th of Junes 2024. The document must not contain your name or institution, as they are reviewed blind, but please state your name and institutional affiliation in the email. Papers focusing on any area of political theory or political philosophy are welcome. Notices of acceptance will be sent by the 17th of June.


Please note that we are asking all speakers and attendees to pay a registration fee of £20. The sole purpose of this fee is to ensure that we are able to provide a number of partial and full bursaries for speakers who would otherwise not be able to attend. As these bursaries will be allocated according to need, please include a brief description of your funding situation when submitting your abstract if you wish to be considered for a bursary.


For any questions, feel free to contact Dennis Pirdzuns and James Edwards at